PPC Marketing

What is PPC? – The Basics of SEM Marketing Campaign

When you’re a small business owner, it is pretty easy to be enticed to have a professionally designed website before anything else. After all, that’s what the big players do, right?

You then want people to receive the core message that will compel people to patronize your products and services through your website.

In order to achieve that, you need to create traffic. Web traffic that is.

There are so many ways on how websites can attract targeted visitors. But for now, we will give you the basics of the staple Internet marketing campaign, Pay-per-Click Search Engine Marketing (SEM).

What Is PPC or SEM Marketing?

  • Pay-per-Click (PPC) search engine marketing, or what is sometimes termed paid search, is the process of generating traffic to a particular website by purchasing ads on search engines using keywords that are relevant to their target site visitors. The cost of an ad typically works through a bidding system that is participated with other advertisers targeting the same markets.
  • The term SEM refers to Search Engine Marketing which used to be an encompassing term that includes both paid searches and Search Engine Optimization (SEO). As the Internet further developed, SEM came to be known as directly related to paid search.
  • The heart of PPC Marketing is composed of keywords. How advertisers choose and group keywords can make or break the entire search engine marketing campaign. 
  • Search engines where your PPC ads are registered with will showcase them on websites or search results once someone searches the keywords your ads are based in. 
  • This paid advertising service will ensure that your ads will only create targeted traffic that will allow you to have a bigger chance of converting them into a customer or client.

Top 3 PPC Networks

Google’s AdWords dominate the market and is the largest PPC provider for obvious reasons. Users couldn’t just live without Google.

Yahoo! Search Marketing is another network holding its own in the PPC market. Yahoo later teamed up with Microsoft, which eventually launched Bing, and formed AdCenter as a PPC platform that will compete against Google in this arena. 

The following provides an overview of each of these top three PPC networks.

  • Google AdWords
    AdWords is undoubtedly the most popular PPC network in terms of market share and in terms of delivering the most traffic to a particular campaign. It is Google’s main advertising product and this search engine giant can deliver you the results that you want.

    The network enables you to have local, national or international distribution for your campaigns and you may even include location-based or even IP address exclusion for a more streamlined campaign to ensure reaching out only to targeted audiences. 

    AdWords also offers advertisers site-targeted advertising facilities for various kinds of ads including text, banners and rich-media advertisements depending on a daily budget that you can set. 

    The network also assists advertisers by offering them different tools that they can use to enhance their marketing campaigns including keyword research, tools on improving conversions, etc.

  • Bing Ads (MSN AdCenter)
    Bing Ads is the latest iteration of the MSN AdCenter network that caters to both the Yahoo! and Bing search engines, which offers PPC advertising for your campaigns. In terms of CPC or cost-per-click, Bing Ads can is a considerably cheaper alternative than AdWords.

    The catch is that there is a large difference when it comes to traffic share between Google and Bing networks. But there are also some facets where they are similar. Like AdWords, Bing Ads offers various tools for advertisers that can help them gain a better insight into the market they are campaigning. 

    This will assist users to develop strategies on how they can get a better ROI by responding accordingly like restricting or increasing ads and bids on keywords based on exposure to a particular demographic.

  • Yahoo! Search Marketing
    This is the internet advertising service provided by Yahoo! that offers PPC or sponsored search advertising based on keywords

    Although the traffic rates for this network is not as extensive as that of AdWords or the MSN networks, it is often suggested to use this network to have an even wider reach and more traffic for your website

Basic Terminologies of PPC You Should Know

If you’re contemplating on using PPC/search engine marketing as part of your overall Internet marketing campaign, it would be to your greatest advantage to come and learn more about the terminologies and abbreviations that you will often encounter when using this tool. This includes the following:

Pay-per-Click or PPC – As discussed earlier, PPC ads are paid ads based on targeted keyword combinations and are posted on websites or search results. Payments, however, will be charged only from click-through, or when people actually click on the ad. If the ad is displayed but no clicks on the links occurred, no payments will be charged.

CPM or Cost Per Impression – Unlike PPC, this one allows you to pay the PPC network per 1,000 views or impressions regardless if people will click the ad or not. We don’t recommend using this in a PPC network.

Advertiser – Business owners promoting their websites through PPC ads will fall under this category, either buying or bidding on particular keywords or sets of keywords relevant to their brand, products or services. Ads will be displayed on advertising spaces on a network of websites as well as search results where the particular sets of keywords appear as content or typed in during searches.

Publisher – This is where advertising spaces are showcased and where the paid ads may appear depending on keyword relevance. Paid ads on Google’s search results make the search engine a publisher for these particular ads. In a similar manner, websites that are integrated with Google AdSense will run paid ads from AdWords depending on the keywords used.

CTR or Click-Through-Rate – A click-through is made whenever a site visitor clicks on a displayed ad from the website or a search result. The cost of a particular PPC campaign may be affected by the number of clicks made through that particular ad. CTR can be computed by clicks/impressions then multiplied by 100 to make it a percentage. So let’s say 500 people viewed your site and 10 people clicked on it. So your CTR is approximately 2.0% which is very high (10/500 = 0.02×100 = 2%).

Cost-Per-Click or CPC – is a system used by the PPC network to determine the minimum CPC that you need to bid before your ads can run. CPC differs greatly from market to market, it usually depends on how competitive the market and keyword is. CPC can also be affected by your campaign performance.

BID – a term for setting the max amount of money that you are willing to pay on the PPC network. Either CPC or CPM, it’s advisable that follow the minimum bid that the PPC network is suggesting.

Budget – The max amount of budget that you are willing to spend per day for your campaign. Some networks like Bing allow you to have a monthly and daily budget while Adwords focused on a daily budget.

The Five Most Important PPC Components

To have an effective Pay-per-Click SEM campaign each PPC component should be carefully taken into consideration and every aspect that would make that particular component an effective tool for your PPC campaign well addressed. The following provides a brief overview of each of these top 5 components and their importance to your campaign

  •  Keywords
    This is the single key component of your PPC campaign. Failing to identify the most relevant and most targeted words or phrases for your business can be a great disaster in your PPC campaign. 

    To keep this from happening, make sure to use the top keyword research tools out there to aid you in finding the best keywords for your business.

    Pointers when searching for keywords:

    Avoid using very generic words
    Find specific keywords with decent traffic
    Start with the name of your products or services
    Top Keywords Research Tools

  • Landing Page
    This is where the action takes place. They are linked from your PPC advertisements which serve as the page that your visitors will be redirected after they clicked on your ad. The main purpose of the landing page is the conversion of visitors either into sales or leads.

    For lead generation – These types of pages can also be called squeeze pages, where you extract contact information from your visitors in exchange for a subscription to a newsletter or a free eBook offer.

    More often than not, squeeze pages will provide another link that goes to a Sales Page.

    For sales generation – A landing page designed to generate sales can also be called a Sales Page. This is where you pitch your sales copy where the call to action which is usually to purchase an item or enroll in a program and is strategically placed throughout the page.

  •  Campaign Budget
    PPC Campaigns run on a particular budget set on a monthly or daily basis depending on the settings you specified at the network you are using. 

    The monthly feature will let the campaign run and qualify for particular auctions and will stop once the budget has been fully exhausted. Daily budgeting features allow you to set a particular budget each day, letting you spread your campaign across each day of the entire month.

  • AD Message
    Your ad message is the spearhead of your PPC advertising campaign. These are short, text-based messages or flashy images that should be carefully planned and chosen to make the ad as powerful and appealing as possible. 

    The key is to make your ad stand out from your competitors, getting the attention of readers and enticing them to click on your ad to have more info. A whole new article can be written to show you how to write good AD messages but a summary can be given here to give you an idea:

    Eliminate unnecessary words
    Focus on compelling benefits
    Make use of power words
    Avoid generic copy and clichés
    A good call to action statement

  •  Campaign Performance Metrics
    Monitoring the performance of your campaigns is important to give you a gauge to measure how effective your ads are and if interventions and adjustments are necessary to produce better results. Some of these metrics include:

    Average CPC – Cost Per Click
    CPM – Cost Per Impression
    CTR – Click Through Rate
    Quality Score

The Benefits of SEM or Pay-Per-Click Marketing For Your Business

If a particular Pay-per-Click SEM campaign is done properly, with all preliminary components, addressed such as choosing the right keyword or set of keywords to use in the campaign, paid PPC can deliver very high quality targeted traffic that has higher chances for conversion or sale.

Businesses can get the most benefits from their SEM marketing particularly in reaching out to targeted people who you are actually intending to connect with your brand, product or service.

From the clicks that your visitors will make through your PPC ads, you will also gain an insight of what your target audiences really want or prefer, how they search for particular products and the search terms they actually use, and what particular information on the landing page or website will actually entice them to purchase a product or service.


It is important to reiterate that significant traffic is still generated through search engines, and the use of Pay-per-Click search engine marketing ensures the influx of targeted traffic from the intended market of a particular brand, product or service. People are always looking for information and search engines help them look for this information – which they can eventually find through your Pay-per-Click ads.

If you need digital marketing services for your company or your small business, contact us at Logical Assembly.

Linked Advertising

A Beginners Guide to LinkedIn Advertising

Word has been spreading that LinkedIn may be the up and coming advertising player this year.

LinkedIn has offered advertising services for years now, but it was only recently when they have really nailed down the craft of being an ad service provider and social media networking website.

What really helps set LinkedIn ads apart from other social media advertising platforms, like Facebook, is their B2B targeting options. B2B marketers flock to LinkedIn because almost every professional have LinkedIn accounts.

Knowing this, LinkedIn has optimized its targeting options to allow marketers to really aim and connect with people of a specific profession

Want to focus on the information technology industry? You can target it with LinkedIn ads.

Want to reach CEOs of investment firms? Yes, you can reach them with LinkedIn ads.

Want to receive applications from those college graduates with experience as general managers of natural food grocery stores? You can get really close and personal to them with LinkedIn ads, as well.

Because of that business-to-business option, many business owners are going to LinkedIn with their budgets this year. However, it doesn’t mean that they aren’t advertising on Facebook, too, but depending on their budget they may be heading to LinkedIn first.

Do keep in mind that with LinkedIn the cost is going to be a lot greater than Facebook, so make sure you’ve got plenty of cash before trying this method.

Have the necessary money and ready to be dealt a hand? Let’s go over some ground rules first.

LinkedIn Advertising Guide: An Overview

Before, LinkedIn used to be extremely limited with its advertising options, almost without any space for advertisers to really accomplish their goals.

That has since changed and will continue to change going into the future, with the aim to give more freedom for advertisers.
Now, with LinkedIn ads, you can make ads based on what you need to do.

In this article, we will assume that you already know what you need to achieve and have your goals in mind.

With that said, in order to successfully run an advertisement on LinkedIn, your goal needs to be one of these

  • Brand awareness.
  • Website visits.
  • Engagement.
  • Video views.
  • Lead generation.
  • Website conversions.
  • Job applicants.

Organic engagement on LinkedIn is already a given deal with almost everyone on LinkedIn.

As LinkedIn’s algorithm isn’t as strict and picky as Facebook’s, allocating all of your budgets toward LinkedIn engagement ads may not be the most ideal bet for every business.

We suggest picking an objective that is a bit more direct like job applications or website conversions.

You’re generally going to be paying more on LinkedIn for each accomplished objective, so get to the point and be a bit blunter with how you chose your ad objectives.

Based on the objective you have specified, you’d be given five different ad types to attempt:

Sponsored Content

Think of this as a promoted post. You will be promoting an article or post from your company page that appears in the LinkedIn feed.

At most times, these ads do have the highest CPC on average so proceed with caution and make sure the content you’re promoting is well planned and well-executed.

Text Ads

These are the minuscule ads you may or may not notice on the right side of your LinkedIn feed. This might remind you of Facebook Ads circa 2010.

Aside from the right column, these ads may sometimes appear beneath the “People You May Know” section. This is where your text contents can absolutely make or break your ad conversions.

Test a few different strategies but make sure to get to the point with these ads.

Sponsored InMail

This is an amusing way to spam someone’s LinkedIn inbox. But, when done properly, it can really have a conversion rate higher than any of the other LinkedIn ad options.

Because these ads need to come from a personal profile rather than a branded business page, people are less likely to fee that they are being sold as they can actually communicate with a genuine representative of the business.

But please make it a point to never copy and paste templates to your prospect or any of your demographic. Make sure and make each InMail professional and personal.

Video Ads

A bit self-explanatory here, but LinkedIn’s video ads will help you promote your videos to your correct target market. This is one reason that you should be creating a ton of video content.

Make sure to test various videos to see which type of video according to topic, length, real-life or animation, gives you the most conversions.


In this modern-day of advertising and company growth, it is important that any business owner or manager must get whatever help he can in order to keep up the pace. 

By utilizing LinkedIn on its utmost potential, small business owners will have the capacity and the capability to compete with much larger companies. 
By using the steps above, we can assure you that everything will be alright with your LinkedIn marketing campaign.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us at Logical Assembly.

Image Optimization

6 Ways You Can Optimize Images for SEO

Aside from making a more engaging and pleasing to the eyes, images are the most important elements in an SEO aside from the text. The saying that a picture is worth a thousand words can be considered true in the online world. 

Images are easier to grasp and are more appealing to the audience. In addition, product listing containing images is much decisive for consumer’s purchasing decisions while shopping online. 

Google also rates text content with images better than those without images. Good images are therefore a major criterion for a website that is hoping to get ranked on Google. Accordingly, dealing with the optimization of your images should be considered as part of the optimization of your webpage as a whole. 

Here are five simple ways in which you could optimize your images

Five ways to Better Optimize Your Images for SEO

  • Use Unique Images that is Relevant to Your Content

The first thing that users tend to notice before reading any of your content are the images you have on your website. As humans, we tend to be attracted to beautiful images. That is why an appealing image is important as it will definitely and immediately create an impression to the users. 

While planning for your webpage, always take time to source out images that illustrate with drama, comedy, or romance to connect with your users to an emotional level. A lot of royalty-free photos can be seen all over the internet, but using your own personally-produced images is absolutely an added boost to improve your site traffic. 

So remember to take time off and snap a photo yourself that best reflects you and your company and use that instead.

  • Only Use High-Quality Photos

As much as possible, human eyes prefer looking at high-resolution images rather than those pixelated ones. Just try it on YouTube. Try watching a video in 240 P then another at 1080 P and which one you’d like to watch again?

Web images with images that have a poor resolution or formatted incorrectly can appear garbled or distorted when using a tablet or a mobile phone. For most eCommerce situation, the best format to use is a jpeg file.

Jpeg files provide the highest quality while maintaining a relatively small image size. Png can also be a good alternative for jpeg format because of its extremely small file size.

  • Organize Your Images

Organizing your images is just as important as how you choose them. 

Organize your images in a way that can be understood in the context that you intend to deliver to your user and in accordance with the journey the user will undertake. For example, if you are showcasing an apartment for rent by using images, index them in a logical order the same way a prospective buyer would travel to the physical house. 

Also, you need to understand that there shouldn’t be any gaps in your imagery. For example, you might have provided your viewers with amazing angles of your car for sale but neglected to provide important details such as the interior, engine, lights, etc. This might cause to drive traffic away from your site.

Images can communicate in a way that your text cannot, and you want to take this advantage without neglecting the minor important details.

  • Reduce the Size of you Image Files

Always remember to keep your images arranged for viewing. As you may know, Google is pretty big on mobile, going as far as to create a Google Mobile-first Index.

This means that you need to account for mobile users with your images. By scaling down large image files, you will increase page loading time which is a crucial element for those that browse using their mobile devices.

  • Include a Caption with your Images

Anyone using keywords associated with your caption will find your page in Google’s search results. The key is maintaining both page and image relevance. 

Images with misleading or wrong captions will make your bounce rate increase rapidly which will send poor signals to Google’s search engines that your content is not the right match.

In addition, captions will help make your content more engaging, which in turn will help make it smoother to digest and understand for readers.

Leaving captions blank is a missed opportunity to fully optimize your page in terms of SEO and User experience and might lead to a decrease in precious users.

  • Utilize the “Alt Text”

This is one of the most ignored features of doing web content. Alternative text provides users that are not able to access the image description of the contents of your images.

Rendering your images in a text allows interpreters for the blind, health care attendants, and others who perform valuable service roles to the physically challenged. Accurately filling out your alt text provides another way to help users digest and understand your content. 

These texts will also serve to enrich and improve the relevance of your content and can raise your profile with search engines by assisting web crawlers to understand your images. 

Like captions, alternative text ensures that your content will be boosted with regards to user experience and search optimization. 


Climbing to the top of the search results is a gruesome and taxing effort. It takes plenty of time and dedication in order to finally achieve it. But seeing the results will absolutely be worth the hard work that you have exerted especially when those organic traffic starts to come in. 

In order to succeed, you will need every bit of help and assistance to get your website to rank and Image optimization is one of those. This simple yet effective endeavor can be the extra push that your site needed in order to get over the competition.

At the very least, you need to follow these six simple and basic steps to ensure that your images are well optimized for user experience and search.